top of page

I Love All the Dads!


 

"Dad, I'm hungry"

"Hi hungry, I'm dad"

 

Fathers.. what a unique species. Why do they always sneeze so loud? Classic dad moves include barbecuing, piloting road trips, binge watching 24, only eating fish & chips at restaurants and then saying "what's the damage?" when the bill comes. Dads are like giant kids - testing out a new remote control helicopter to "check and see if it works" but every kid knew their dad just wanted the first turn. It's like putting a bigger child in charge of taking care of a smaller child when a man becomes a father.. quite an interesting experience.

I remember the first time I met my dad.. July 6th, 1998 on a Tuesday. It was in a hospital room and he was dressed in all blue scrubs (sporting frosted tips if I do remember correctly). I was fresh out the womb.. crying and screaming like I was just born or something. My mom was in tears and he was in awe. He held me in his arms, and I thought to myself, "Yeah he's alright, I'll take this one as my father" and the rest is history!

Dads are the great.. but mine is the greatest. I'd like to think he lives a double life; business-family man by day - gang member by night. Miguel (if that is his real name) rides motorcycles and has more than a few tattoos. He's too good at skateboarding than a man his age should be and has the biggest shrine for KISS and a record collection that could fill a museum. Although he enjoys his occasional teenage moments, he is guaranteed the highest quality of all the dads. With two daughters - myself and my younger sister - he quickly adapted to learning how to put our hair into ponytails and braids, or trying to put together fashionable outfits (emphasis on trying). My signature outfit in kindergarten was a Spiderman t-shirt, floral pants, two different socks and Velcro shoes. There are too many pictures to prove it. One of my favourite things my dad used to do with my siblings and I was what we called "chop legs." When we were little enough, the three of us would jump up and down on our parent's king-sized bed like jellybeans. With him standing at the edge and one big swoop of his arm, he would try to take us all out by the legs - last man standing wins. This would go on for hours and hours until we ran out of energy or we got sore from falling all over each other. Why do dads love to throw their kids around? I wish I knew why, but I'm not complaining - it was the best time of my life. My dad was the reason behind some of my favourite childhood memories and continues to be one my favourite people I love to spend time with. Six hours away and he still never fails to make me laugh, make me cry and make me feel loved everyday.

Migs,

Thank you for being a comfy shoulder to lean on whether it was because one of your other kids stole a Bionicle from me, or having to make tough decisions nowadays.

Thank you for giving me the opportunity and lessons to pursue a sport I fell in love with.

With that, thank you for teaching me literally everything I know about hockey - from tying my skates, to convincing me that Shayne Corson would become my childhood hero (RIP to my favourite toque).

For all those late nights, early mornings, overnight tournaments, endless road trips for away games.. thank you.

Thank you for supporting me through every decision; big or small - even if you knew I would fail, at least I would learn.

Thank you for lecturing me about any life lesson in the car; the only place where I can't escape from you.

Thank you for singing along to Jimmy Buffet with me.

Thank you for buying me ice cream cones and comforting me when I actually thought the world was going to end in 2012.. and then laughing at me the next day when I woke up alive and well.

Thank you for being the best coach I've ever had.

Thank you for giving me your OCD genes about cleanliness and punctuality.

Thank you for teaching me that metal or plastic don't go in the microwave.. whoops.

Thank you for showing me eight different ways to solve a fourth grade math problem, even though the textbook only asked for one.

Thanks for being my biggest fan and shamelessly plugging me every chance you get.

Thank you for continually pushing me to see more, create more, and be more.

Thank you for constantly reminding me that I am loved.

Win or lose.. I love yous. Do good or bad.. I'm still your.. daughter? That doesn't work as well. Anyway, I hope I do you justice and constantly remind you how much you are loved. The things you do for your family never go unnoticed or taken for granted. Dads are cool, but you're the coolest. I appreciate you more than you will ever know (also because I know I'm the favourite child). You deserve all the Whoppers, Girl Guide cookies and Aux Vivres Buddha sauce the world has to offer. Happy Father's Day to the best dad, friend, teammate, consultant and trivia player.. I love you to Ryley, Alberta and back.

happy father's day

to all the dads in heaven

to all the people who have lost a parent

to all the mothers taking on both roles

to all the parents who've lost a child

to all the older siblings playing the dad role

.. this day is for you!

- R

bottom of page