top of page

She's Gonna Be Famous


@emmmmoore: "For a few years I really lost myself. Nothing felt right, I was confused and lacked a sense of purpose. I was pessimistic and unmotivated and I never could have imagined what my life would be like at this point in time. I won't deny how nerve wracking it is to be thrown into my dream job 2 weeks after dropping out of school but starting this career is going to change my life in so many ways that I am already grateful for. There are so many mixed emotions associated with transition and I am trying to acknowledge all of them, even sadness and confusion. But I am so happy. I'm also scared shitless... but I think that's a good thing"

Emily Moore - my roommate and best friend is the perfect example of a girl who's not afraid to dream big. I'll give you readers a little background knowledge:

Em and I met in student residence at Concordia University. She knew coming into first year her heart wasn't in school and soon decided she would not go on to finish her four-year Studio Arts program. She never really liked school and went through some tough years in high school. On a random Wednesday in early September, just when classes started, she came back from a tattoo convention with her first tattoo - typical impulsive Emily Moore. Can you guess what her dream job is? If you guessed a dental hygienist, wrong.. a tattoo artist, duh! She soon became obsessed with the idea after she got her first real piece of ink. Only a few days later, Em brought her portfolio to the artist that tattooed her at the convention, who worked at a local tattoo shop that was a few blocks from campus. The artist wasn't having it.. but that didn't stop her. Em didn't leave her alone and stayed day after day, morning until night at the shop asking questions, shadowing the artist and kept drawing and drawing, coming up with new ideas and new pieces of art to prove she wanted this more than ever. If she wasn't in class, she was at the shop. If she wasn't at the shop, she was sleeping. Soon, the tattoo artist took Em under her wing in early November and was declared an official apprentice. The opportunity came, and she said yes before anyone could even ask. Em missed a few classes here and there while she put her whole heart and soul into tattooing. By the end of the school year, she passed and finished first year university knowing she wouldn't be coming back. See ya never, Concordia.

May 6, 2017 rolls around and Em completed her first real tattoo on a real life human being.. you can imagine what a proud mom I was in that moment. She is the most talented artist I have ever seen and every little drawing she does continues to leave me speechless every time. Seeing her doing what she's always dreamed of doing made me so dang happy. I hope everyone has the chance to meet the infamous Emily Moore atleast once in your life. I swear, one encounter with the girl and you will leave inspired and motivated to be a better person than before. I get to live with her mwahahaha.. suckers.

She inspires me to sieze every opportunity and that life is too short to live with regrets. Em never plans.. even if it's just what she's going to get at the grocery store. She takes every day as it is and lets her life lead her; instead of trying to force things to happen in her life. She reminds me to be happy about the little things; finishing a good book, waking up and stretching, finding a new favourite song, getting into a freshly made bed, coming home after a long day, the list goes on. She reminds me to stop and be thankful for what I have - not wish for what I don't have. It's these little moments in life that are most often overlooked that Em cherishes. She's gonna be famous - no ifs, ands or buts. She is the hardest working person I know and I am continuously in awe of her drive for success. She has never let anyone tell her different and has never given two shits about what other people think of her. Em, you are beautiful, intelligent, so ridiculously talented and I am so glad you are in my life. Your smile is contagious, you have so much to offer the world and I know you will only go on to do great things. I can't wait to see what life has in store for you and always know that I am your biggest cheerleader.

Happy Birthday Em! You rock, don't ever change who you are.

To all the girls with big dreams, who have been told that they are ‘too preoccupied with success’, or that they are ‘too selfish’ or ‘too ambitious’ - do not listen to the people who speak those words. If you love something that much, and will pursue it to the ends of the earth, do not give it up for anyone. Hold it close to your heart and understand that you are not obligated to dim your sparkle for anybody. In your life, there will always be people who tell you that you are too this, or too that. They will say a woman is too assertive, or too reserved. They will say she feels too little or too much, that ambition is selfish. They may even be hurt or offended that you do not think the same. Yet at the end of the day, know in your heart that you are the only one who will ever know whether you are truly enough and that is what’s important. Go out there and smash the glass ceiling to pieces.

- R

bottom of page